Author Topic: New 34P  (Read 107638 times)

Offline mack

• Forum Lieutenant
    • View Profile
Re: New 34P
« Reply #175 on: June 29, 2007, 06:30:52 PM »
have we not considered that the height of the appliance has something to do with the terrain they are expected to encounter, along with the necessary entrance/exit angles and clearance in general.

?

would CFS really build the appliance that large just to be impressive? i think not, im no mechanic, but im sure the height is driven by functionality of the appliance.

Offline Pipster

• Forum Captain
    • View Profile
« Reply #176 on: June 30, 2007, 01:18:50 AM »
And perhaps by what is on the market, and what sort if a price CFS can get it for....

Pip
There are three types of people in the world.  Those that watch things happen, those who make things happen, and those who wonder what happened.

Offline Gilly

• Forum Senior Firefighter
    • View Profile
« Reply #177 on: July 08, 2007, 09:58:13 PM »
Mack,
Entrance angles of what the 34P's have are reduced by the bullbars, chassis hardware and other crap hanging off anyway. If the entrance/exit angle as you are saying is required, i doubt the Izuzu and Hino chassis have the torque or horspower to drive up any hills/creeks/whatever that steep. The 34P has an entry angle of 32 degrees. Thats steep yes, but could the vehicle safely and practically operate on such terrain? Clearance wise is limited by the axle height (being a live axle design (simple and cheap)). This is less than 500mm on the 34P's, where as the base of the doors to crew cab are at 1400mm.
I for one did not imply that the CFS is trying to be impressive, however thier choice of chassis i think as pip eluded is based more on price than function and safety. (correct me if i'm wrong pip!).

Offline SA Firey

• Forum Group Officer
    • View Profile
« Reply #178 on: July 10, 2007, 10:05:55 PM »
Touche got it in one :mrgreen:
Images are copyright

Offline bittenyakka

• Administrator
    • View Profile