Author Topic: rope rescue equipment  (Read 31954 times)

Offline medevac

  • Forum Captain
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,659
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: rope rescue equipment
« Reply #25 on: May 15, 2006, 10:10:55 AM »
they have a stand alone rescue appliance so presumably in there...

rescue5271

  • Guest
Re: rope rescue equipment
« Reply #26 on: May 15, 2006, 05:12:37 PM »
Yep we have it all on our rescue unit which is a stand alone unit and well worth the money to get for our group and the region...

Offline medevac

  • Forum Captain
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,659
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: rope rescue equipment
« Reply #27 on: May 15, 2006, 05:48:03 PM »
im ur case a standalone is good, so long as ya can get the pumper out the doors too... but im a bigger fan of the pumprescues and 24p/34p's were rescue gear always rolls with a pump & water...

rescue5271

  • Guest
Re: rope rescue equipment
« Reply #28 on: May 15, 2006, 09:57:41 PM »
We always have the pumper or 34 following us or if we are going into a rural brigade area there applinaces along with our fire applinaces is always there..

Toast

  • Guest
Re: rope rescue equipment
« Reply #29 on: May 16, 2006, 01:50:30 PM »
Are Stirling and Naracoorte the only CFS brigades that are Rope rescue trained? I mean, not just carrying a bit of gear on the trucks, but actually trained in its usage. I may be totally wrong, but I was under the impression that there were not many brigades trained as it is, tradionally, the role of the SES.

Offline bajdas

  • Forum Captain
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,745
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: rope rescue equipment
« Reply #30 on: May 16, 2006, 02:51:46 PM »
Are Stirling and Naracoorte the only CFS brigades that are Rope rescue trained? I mean, not just carrying a bit of gear on the trucks, but actually trained in its usage. I may be totally wrong, but I was under the impression that there were not many brigades trained as it is, tradionally, the role of the SES.

I understand CFS Nuriootpa has equipment & training, but not recognised. Not sure of the equipment carried by the SES truck in the CFS shed near Oakbank.

I would have thought more equipment on Eyre Peninsula or the more remote northern parts of SA.
Andrew Macmichael
lives at Pt Noarlunga South.

My personal opinion only.

Offline Alan (Big Al)

  • Forum Captain
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,609
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • CRUMPETS
    • View Profile
Re: rope rescue equipment
« Reply #31 on: May 16, 2006, 04:27:41 PM »
Are Stirling and Naracoorte the only CFS brigades that are Rope rescue trained? I mean, not just carrying a bit of gear on the trucks, but actually trained in its usage. I may be totally wrong, but I was under the impression that there were not many brigades trained as it is, tradionally, the role of the SES.

Believe Burnside, Athelstone, and Blackwood might be???
Lt. Goolwa CFS

Offline medevac

  • Forum Captain
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,659
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: rope rescue equipment
« Reply #32 on: May 16, 2006, 05:44:25 PM »
mmm as far as i know the only "vertical rescue brigade" as such is naracoorte...

burnside is a confined space trained brigade...

but other than that i believe there are no others that necessarily do it....

rescue5271

  • Guest
Re: rope rescue equipment
« Reply #33 on: May 16, 2006, 06:57:03 PM »
Naracoorte and robe are vert rescue

Offline Alan (Big Al)

  • Forum Captain
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,609
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • CRUMPETS
    • View Profile
Re: rope rescue equipment
« Reply #34 on: May 18, 2006, 12:01:33 AM »
As are Sellicks Beach
Lt. Goolwa CFS

rescue5271

  • Guest
Re: rope rescue equipment
« Reply #35 on: May 18, 2006, 07:32:11 AM »
Just look on teh CFS promo site........

Offline ElectricEliminator

  • Forum Captain
  • *****
  • Posts: 900
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: rope rescue equipment
« Reply #36 on: May 18, 2006, 09:55:26 AM »
But that would be easy and logical now wouldn't it? C'mon, We're in the CFS! :-D

Offline CyberCitizen

  • Forum Lieutenant
  • ****
  • Posts: 430
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Fire Fighter
    • View Profile
    • http://myspace.com/cfsfirey
Re: rope rescue equipment
« Reply #37 on: May 19, 2006, 03:23:45 PM »
As are Sellicks Beach

I Don't Know If They Are Listed Anywhere As I Don't Think They Get All Call's As There Was A Cliff Rescue At Aldinga & I Don't Believe Sellicks Got Called To It.

rescue5271

  • Guest
Re: rope rescue equipment
« Reply #38 on: May 19, 2006, 05:51:34 PM »
ses went to that was on the pager site...

Toast

  • Guest
Re: rope rescue equipment
« Reply #39 on: May 20, 2006, 12:40:34 AM »
But that would be easy and logical now wouldn't it? C'mon, We're in the CFS! :-D

Yes sure, go through all 430+ brigades one at a time! :P

Offline Sam

  • Forum Senior Firefighter
  • ***
  • Posts: 83
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
    • Scanning South Australia
Re: rope rescue equipment
« Reply #40 on: May 20, 2006, 01:23:55 PM »
Yes Andrew you are right about Nuri. We have the gear and are trained but not recognised at the moment.. We are currently getting all new replacement gear as the old stuff is near its lifespan. It gets used now and then mainly for training.
Just another training course to do and maintain......

strikeathird

  • Guest
Re: rope rescue equipment
« Reply #41 on: May 23, 2006, 04:56:45 PM »
I have my own sit in harness, carabeenas, descenders , chalk bag,  few other bits and pieces..

Just need to get some dynamic and static rope..

Offline CyberCitizen

  • Forum Lieutenant
  • ****
  • Posts: 430
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Fire Fighter
    • View Profile
    • http://myspace.com/cfsfirey
Re: rope rescue equipment
« Reply #42 on: June 09, 2006, 01:26:57 PM »
Yeah I Have My Own Gear As Well.  I Go Rock Climbing & Abseiling But Doesn't Mean I Can Use It On The Job.

strikeathird

  • Guest
Re: rope rescue equipment
« Reply #43 on: June 12, 2006, 02:06:52 PM »
^ Didn't say it did, is however fun for using privately on the weekends on rock walls...  :-P

Offline Broadside

  • Forum Firefighter
  • **
  • Posts: 21
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: rope rescue equipment
« Reply #44 on: June 29, 2006, 04:04:21 AM »
Sellicks are accredited for low angle stretcher rescue. It was approved as a change to their sfec about 5 years ago.

rescue5271

  • Guest
Re: rope rescue equipment
« Reply #45 on: June 29, 2006, 07:10:08 AM »
Naracoorte brigade had a nice drive to Robe last Friday night,just after training the brigade along with robe brigade where paged for a cliff Rescue at the oblisk at robe..With fast removal of rescue gear from the rescue the crew of 5 where on their way for a nice drive. SES where also paged from, kingston and mount gambier,from what the guys said they all worked well and Naracoorte crews arrived home at 0430hrs... Mind you they tell us it was a good night to go fishing so may be its time we put fishing rods on that rescue... :roll:

Offline medevac

  • Forum Captain
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,659
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: rope rescue equipment
« Reply #46 on: June 29, 2006, 09:38:52 AM »
you removed the RCR gear from the rescue truck???

what happens if you get paged to another job on the way home, or need it for some reason at the rope rescue...

Offline Broadside

  • Forum Firefighter
  • **
  • Posts: 21
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: rope rescue equipment
« Reply #47 on: June 29, 2006, 12:38:35 PM »
Cybercitizen the rescue at aldinga was originally paged as port noarlunga then repaged with the correct address about 15 min later. As far as i know because kyeema group have not set up all their responses on the cad data base at mfs sellicks will not appear on it yet but i know it has been discussed at a group level already.

Offline Alan (Big Al)

  • Forum Captain
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,609
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • CRUMPETS
    • View Profile
Re: rope rescue equipment
« Reply #48 on: June 29, 2006, 02:47:04 PM »
you removed the RCR gear from the rescue truck???

what happens if you get paged to another job on the way home, or need it for some reason at the rope rescue...

What happens if they get an RCR in Naracoorte they would have to wait for Penola to get there, so you can always put the gear on another applaiance for another job. If they needed they're rescue gear for the job, Robe has a set, and i'd say Kingston would've had theirs there as well.
Lt. Goolwa CFS

Offline medevac

  • Forum Captain
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,659
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: rope rescue equipment
« Reply #49 on: June 29, 2006, 03:14:36 PM »
makes  absoloutely no sense to remove the gear... firstly the time you save by having les weight on board is probly negated by the fact that youve slowed your response time... plus it makes no sense to remove gear off the truck that may be beneficial to the job.

just stating the facts..